Guevarra, Yap reclaim PBA side event titles

first_imgIn fight vs corruption, Duterte now points to Ayala, MVP companies as ‘big fish’ Carpio hits red carpet treatment for China Coast Guard PLAY LIST 02:14Carpio hits red carpet treatment for China Coast Guard02:56NCRPO pledges to donate P3.5 million to victims of Taal eruption00:56Heavy rain brings some relief in Australia02:37Calm moments allow Taal folks some respite03:23Negosyo sa Tagaytay City, bagsak sa pag-aalboroto ng Bulkang Taal01:13Christian Standhardinger wins PBA Best Player award Steam emission over Taal’s main crater ‘steady’ for past 24 hours Guevarra, the Phoenix high-flyer, pulled out an off-the-bounce windmill for a perfect 40 in his dunkoff with little-known Renz Palma to rule the event for the fourth time in the last five years.That was enough to outlast Palma, whose 360-degree dunk from near the foul line only got 39 points.FEATURED STORIESSPORTSGinebra beats Meralco again to capture PBA Governors’ Cup titleSPORTSAfter winning title, time for LA Tenorio to give back to Batangas folkSPORTSTim Cone, Ginebra set their sights on elusive All-Filipino crown“This is the hardest (Slam Dunk) contest I’ve ever been in,” Guevarra said. “Everybody knew what dunks I could do, so I was really forced to show off some new slams.”Rey Guevarra captures his fourth Slam Dunk title.Guevarra jumped over a motorcycle and teammate JC Intal in one of his finals dunks to delight the Batangas City Coliseum crowd here. Adamson survives challenge of gritty Arellano The two finalists ended up tied with 75 points each after two dunks.“I was really challenged by him. Because of him, I had to raise the bar so that I could edge him,” he said.Another victory in this event would allow Guevarra to tie KG Canaleta for most dunk titles won.“In God’s time, let’s see if I could still do it. If I get the chance, I will really try to get that fifth championship,” he said.Yap, the former two-time MVP, tallied 24 points to nip Stanley Pringle and triumph for the first time since 2009.ADVERTISEMENT View comments LATEST STORIES Dave Chappelle donates P1 million to Taal relief operations Winfrey details her decision to withdraw from Simmons film China population now over 1.4 billion as birthrate fallscenter_img Jury of 7 men, 5 women selected for Weinstein rape trial James Yap on deck for the three-point shootout. PBA IMAGESBATANGAS—Showing off a new dunk, Rey Guevarra ruled the Slam Dunk event of the PBA All Star festivities Friday and put himself in position to go for the all-time record.James Yap, on the other hand, won the Three-Point Shootout for the first time in nine years and earned validation for himself that he’s still as deadly as he’s ever been.ADVERTISEMENT Nadine Lustre’s phone stolen in Brazil Lights inside SMX hall flicker as Duterte rants vs Ayala, Pangilinan anew MOST READ Don’t miss out on the latest news and information. Volcano watch: Island fissures steaming, lake water receding “I can still do it,” Yap, who won nine years ago while still playing for Purefoods, sighed after capturing the crown.Making the most of the money balls, Yap drained the first nine out of the available 10 colored balls that ultimately spelled the difference. Pringle totaled 21 with Terrence Romeo, another former winner in the field, shooting 16.“I just put it in my mind that those (money balls) were the most important in the rack, and every time they went in, it only added to my confidence,” he said.Blackwater’s Allein Maliksi, who won the event last year, could only score 11 points, the lowest in the first round.Also participating in the event were Ronald Tubid, Matthew Wright, LA Tenorio, Paul Lee, Marcio Lassiter, Canaleta, JVee Casio, and Larry Fonacier.“I’m just happy to win after nine years,” said Yap. “I’ve been doing some extra shooting in practice and I’m glad I was able to bring it in the competition. I just felt really good today.”Beau Belga won the day’s other side event—the Obstacle Challenge—where, in a new twist this season, big men took part in.Belga had no hitches in his run in the championship round, finishing the track in 21.7 seconds.“I was just challenged because it was my teammate (point guard Maverick Ahanmisi) who is the defending champion,” he said.JP Erram finished second at 29.6 seconds, while Gabby Espinas clocked in 30.5 seconds. Justin Chua, Kelly Nabong, and Yousef Taha all made it to the semifinals, while Russel Escoto, Sonny Thoss, Aldrech Ramos, Ken Bono, Asi Taulava and Raymond Aguilar all bowed out in the first round.Yap hopes his victory, along with that of Belga, would mean something for their team.“We hope its a start of something good for Rain or Shine again,” said Yap.The champions of the side events won P30,000 each. —WITH A REPORT FROM CEDELF P. TUPASSports Related Videospowered by AdSparcRead Nextlast_img read more

Read More »