Messer honors local 8th graders

first_imgAll PHOTOS of the event are available HERE. Batesville Middle SchoolEmily Meyer, photo #2 Emily MeyerJason Emsweller, photo #2 Jason EmswellerSt. Louis SchoolOlivia Raab, photo #2 Olivia Raab*Benjamin MosterJac-Cen-Del Jr/Sr High SchoolCloey Simon, photo #2 Cloey Simon*Ryan WilsonMilan Middle SchoolKarly Bushhorn, photo #2 Karly BushhornCaleb Prozanski, photo #2 Caleb ProzanskiSouth Ripley Junior High SchoolLanie Nicholson, photo #2 Lanie Nicholson*Clinton PatrickFranklin County Middle SchoolMacie Fohl, photo #2 Macie FohlJeremy Wilson, photo #2 Jeremy Wilson*denotes student did not attend ceremony Batesville, In. — Indiana Republican Congressman Luke Messer honored 8th-grade students from the 6th Congressional District this week for their outstanding academic achievements.Messer presented top students from each middle school in the 6th District with the 8th Grade Scholar Award at a ceremony in the Batesville Middle School this week. Students were nominated by teachers at each school to receive the recognition.“These students are some of the best and brightest young minds in Indiana, and they should be very proud of their accomplishments,” Messer said. “I hope this recognition encourages these future Hoosier leaders to keep working hard, dream big and make a difference in the world.”Messer delivered the keynote address to the students and their families. Batesville Community Schools Superintendent Paul Ketcham, Vice President of Human Resources at the Batesville Casket Company Mari Jo Moody, and Senior Vice President of Workforce Alignment at Ivy Tech Chris Lowery also spoke during the ceremony.“Indiana is fortunate to have such bright, hard-working, and dedicated students,” Lowery said. “As we contemplate the future of our state, I am convinced we will be in good hands as these young people innovate, build, and lead all of us on the pathways to prosperity.”The 8th Grade Scholars Dinner was sponsored by Hillenbrand and Ivy Tech Community College and took place at Batesville High School.The following students from each middle school received the 8th Grade Scholar Award. INDIVIDUAL photos of each student who attended the ceremony can be downloaded by clicking on the student’s name.last_img read more

Read More »