Southland Represented by Five on 2018 AP All-America Football Teams

first_imgMcNeese’s BJ Blunt was also named a first team selection at the linebacker position. The 2018 Southland Conference Defensive Player of the Year closed out his season with the Cowboys tallying 102 tackles, 11 sacks and 20 tackles for a loss. Throughout the 2018 season, Blunt was twice named a Southland Defensive Player of the Week in addition to being named STATS and College Sports Madness National Player of the Week. Following an impressive senior campaign, Blunt accepted an invitation to play in the East-West Shrine Classic to be played Jan. 19, 2019.BJ Blunt named 1st Team AP All-American @McNeeseSports— McNeese Football (@McNeeseFootball) December 11, 2018 Joining Bowery on the first team was Sam Houston State defensive lineman Derick Roberson. Roberson led the Southland with 15 sacks on the year while finishing second in the nation averaging 1.36 sacks per game. The redshirt senior bolstered the Bearkats defense that allowed a .272 percentage in third down conversions, an average which placed the SHSU defensive unit fifth in the nation. Roberson’s recognition makes him the sixth Bearkat to be named an AP All-American over the past four seasons.Already a Buck Buchanan Award finalist and now an AP First Team All-American. Derick Roberson is the 10th Bearkat in program history to land on the AP All-America first team. #EatEmUpKats #StandTall— Sam Houston Football (@BearkatsFB) December 11, 2018 The 2018 Associated Press All-America team:First TeamOffenseQuarterback — Easton Stick, senior, North Dakota StateRunning backs — Joe Protheroe, senior, Cal Poly; Ryan Fulse, senior, WagnerLinemen — Tanner Volson, senior, North Dakota State; Matt Pyke, senior, East Tennessee State; Micah Shaw, senior, North Carolina A&T; B.J. Autry, senior, Jacksonville State; Garrett Bowery, senior, LamarTight end — Donald Parham, senior, StetsonWide receivers — Josh Pearson, junior, Jacksonville State; Michael Bandy, junior, San DiegoAll-purpose player — Shane Simpson, junior, TowsonKicker — Roldan Alcobendas, senior, Eastern WashingtonDefenseLinemen — Isaiah Mack, senior, Chattanooga; Derick Roberson, senior, Sam Houston State; Ahmad Gooden, senior, Samford; Darryl Johnson, junior, North Carolina A&TLinebackers — Zach Hall, junior, Southeast Missouri State; Dante Olson, junior, Montana; BJ Blunt, senior, McNeese StateBacks — Isaiah Swann, junior, Dartmouth; Robbie Grimsley, senior, North Dakota State; Jimmy Moreland, senior, James Madison; Will Warner, junior, DrakePunter — Chris Faddoul, sophomore, Florida A&MSecond TeamOffenseQuarterback — Devlin Hodges, senior, SamfordRunning backs — A.J. Hines, junior, Duquesne; Marquis Terry, senior, Southeast Missouri StateLinemen — Iosua Operta, senior, Weber State; Spencer Blackburn, senior, Eastern Washington; Drew Forbes, senior, Southeast Missouri State; C.J. Collins, senior, Kennesaw State; Dan Cooney, senior, San DiegoTight end — Matthew Gonzalez, junior, Robert MorrisWide receivers — Kelvin McKnight, senior, Samford; Keelan Doss, senior, UC DavisAll-purpose player — D’Angelo Amos, sophomore, James MadisonKicker — Grayson Atkins, sophomore, FurmanDefenseLinemen — Khalen Saunders, senior, Western Illinois; Greg Menard, senior, North Dakota State; Jay-Tee Tiuli, senior, Eastern Washington; Nick Wheeler, junior, ColgateLinebackers — Jabril Cox, sophomore, North Dakota State; Sterling Sheffield, senior, Maine; Adrian Hope, freshman, FurmanBacks — James Allen, senior, Charleston Southern; Tyree Robinson, sophomore, East Tennessee State; Nassir Adderly, senior, Delaware; Marlon Bridges, senior, Jacksonville StatePunter — Alex Pechin, senior, BucknellThird TeamOffenseQuarterback — Chandler Burks, senior, Kennesaw StateRunning backs — James Holland, senior, Colgate; James Robinson, junior, Illinois State.Linemen — Matt Kaskey, senior, Dartmouth; Justus Basinger, junior, Wofford; C.J. Toogood, senior, Elon; Zack Johnson, junior, North Dakota State; Tiano Pupungatoa, senior, South Dakota State.Tight end — Owen Cosenke, sophomore, Western CarolinaWide receivers — Reggie White Jr., senior, Monmouth; Jazz Ferguson, junior, Northwestern StateAll-purpose player — Kentel Williams, junior, Austin PeayKicker — Aidian O’Neill, junior, TowsonDefenseLinemen — Nathan Clayberg, senior, Drake; Maurice Jackson, junior, Richmond; Filipe Satake, senior, Weber State; Solomon Brown, senior, Charleston Southern.Linebackers — Pete Swenson, senior, Western Illinois; De’Arius Christmas, senior, Grambling State; Cameron Gill, junior, Wagner.Backs — Abu Daramy-Swaray, junior, Colgate; Dominic Frasch, senior, Cal Poly; Davon Jernigan, senior, Lamar; Jordan Brown, senior, South Dakota StatePunter — Garret Wegner, sophomore, North Dakota State FRISCO, Texas – The Southland Conference is well-represented on the All-America rosters as five student-athletes from four member institutions were selected to the 2018 Associated Press All-America teams, the AP announced Tuesday. The 2018 selections gives the Southland at least one AP All-American in each of the last five years.Lamar led the way with a pair of selections in first-team offensive lineman Garrett Bowery and third-team defensive back Davon Jernigan. Bowery wrapped up his season with Lamar after being named a first-team all-conference selection in addition to being voted the 2018 Southland Conference Offensive Lineman of the. Bowery anchored the Cardinals’ offensive line that led the Southland and ranked 12th nationally with 250.3 rushing yards per game. Jernigan led the Cardinals’ defense with 76 solo tackles becoming one of six Southland players to record at least 100 tackles this season. Jernigan posted career numbers in his final year with Lamar to also garner first-team all-conference honors. The duo led LU to its first-ever appearance in the NCAA FCS Playoffs.Congratulations to Garrett Bowery and Davon Jernigan — 2018 AP All-Americans. #WeAreLU— Lamar Football (@LamarFootball) December 11, 2018 Northwestern State wide receiver Jazz Ferguson earned a spot on the third team becoming the 46th NSU All-American in program history. Ferguson concluded his season with the Demons setting single-season records for receiving yards (1,117) and touchdown receptions (13). On the way to being named the 2018 Southland Conference Offensive Player of the Year, Ferguson reeled in six 100-yard receiving games while averaging 101.5 receiving yards per game.Congratulations to @JazzFerguson2 on being named a third-team All-American by the @AP. #NeverYield #EAT #Unstoppable1— NSU Football (@NSUDemonsFB) December 11, 2018last_img read more

Read More »